generation “why?” 

I would write more specifically about the topic at youth tonight, but I tried, and and then proceeded to erase the entire thing. It might have to wait until tomorrow. Too much to say at once, and too hard to say at all. I really have no answers for the topics of anxiety, or depression, or stress, or any of that. I don’t know. I don’t know how to deal with it. I don’t know how to progress from it. There’s only one place to turn.

There are some specific things in life that I never thought would apply to ME. I had heard about these big, scary, hushed words all my life, but they were always reserved for nameless, faceless people. I never thought that eventually, these words would land on the girl staring back in the mirror. Ever feel like you’re in a hole that’s over your head? Ever feel like your identity is wrapped up in two words? Ever feel like if people don’t know a certain fact about you, then there’s nothing left for them to know? Ever feel like your personality and interests have been washed down the drain, pulled away by something out of your control? Ever lie awake and think about how it’s just you and the dark left? Ever write a blog at 11:43 pm and know that you won’t be able to sleep for several more hours? Ever inhale the day and exhale exhaustion? Well, if so, then this verse is for you.

Matthew 6:34 – “Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.”

There is more to any of us than a temporary condition, even if it seems permanent. Hope is a good word. I have hope for tomorrow, but before I get there, today has to be done. I have a ridiculous amount of questions. Inexperience causes that, I guess. But right now I’m just leaning on faithfulness and trust. When we cry out for help, he hears.

New favorite song: Falling For You – Seabird